Ted Slater at Boundless Line asks what others have done with the summer months.  In the past, I have hosted music camps, taught piano, traveled and done a myriad of other things.  This summer, however, I have decided to do something slightly different.  I have babysat children for over seven years now, but I have never nannied full-time.  In four weeks, I am about to take on this position.  When I tell people this, they seem to do a double-take and immediately say something such as “you’re so brave!”  But honestly, I couldn’t ask for a better job.  I will be nannying four children who are simply amazing.  They are also solid Christians, which is even better.

So, that is what I’m doing with my summer.  I’m also hoping to spend a fair amount of time reading and have included my summer reading list below.

  • The Aesthetics of Mimesis by Stephen Halliwell
  • Queen Victoria’s Family by Charlotte Zeepvat
  • Christian Manifesto by Francis Shaeffer
  • The Spirit of the Disciplines by Dallas Willard
  • The End of Reason by Ravi Zacharias
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
  • Practice in Christianity by Soren Kierkegaard
  • Fear and Trembling by Soren Kierkegaard