Last night, I was reading John 20 and came across this passage (vs. 24-30):

Now Thomas (called Didymus), one of the Twelve, was not with the disciples when Jesus came. So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord!” But he said to them, “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe it.” A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.” Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!”

There are only a few moments in the Bible I wish I could transport myself to, and this is one of them. What a powerful moment. Simply standing in the presence of Jesus is amazing, but to feel his skin and to touch his nail-scarred hands. And then to realize that He is the Son of God. What a light-bulb moment for Thomas. I wish I could have been there to see his face. To see him realize that he was following the Messiah. To see the man who paid off all my debt, tore the veil in two and rose from the dead.

Far too often, I’m like Thomas; I doubt like he did. I tend to question everything and everyone from their lifestyle to their motives. I doubt things I feel God is telling me. I become too comfortable and when God changes the scenery, I disregard it as a distraction because I unwilling to take a leap of faith and follow Him. This evening during my college group, we say this song by Phil Wing. The following lyrics caught my attention.

“…step out on the wave, step out into faith and fix your eyes on Me, look past the stormy sea, look past your stumbling feet. I know you’re afraid. And I know you’re afraid. But I’ll take your hand and hold you close and hold you in…and though you can’t stand, I still can, I still am. I am. I am.”